Electoral Commission sets the record straight

The Electoral Commission (EC) has set the record straight as to why some potential candidates for the 2020 National Assembly election were disqualified.

In a press release issued last week, the EC stated that for nomination of a candidate to be accepted, it has to meet the legal requirements which are: the nomination has to be submitted between 9am and 1pm; a certificate that the deposit has been paid has to be produced; it has to be endorsed by such number of persons entitled to vote at that election as specified by the Commission; copy of ID card of these persons are to be produced; consent from political party for the candidate to stand; digital and hard copy of the party’s symbol; digital and hard copy of two passport photos of the candidate.

On Friday September 18, it was announced that three candidates did not meet all the above requirements to qualify as a National Assembly candidate in the 2020 National Assembly election which will take place on October 22, 23 & 24, 2020.

The candidates are Christopher Quatre, Lalyans Seselwa candidate for Mont Fleuri; Pascal Uzice and Allen Camille, One Seychelles candidates for Beau Vallon and Bel Ombre respectively.

According to the EC press release they were all disqualified for the same reason, which is they were not endorsed by 50 persons entitled to vote in the upcoming elections in the electoral area in which they were seeking nomination.

The EC has reaffirmed its commitment in running an election that is free and fair for all candidates and confirms that the conclusions of disqualification were

in no way influenced by possible objections which may have been placed against the nominated candidates.